Rethinking

I’ve clearly done a substandard job of keeping the blog fresh and useful lately. I’m fairly disappointed in myself, for many reasons, one of which is that I’ve wanted to start a blog for a long time, and on the basis of simply telling a few prominent people that I would try this, I suddenly found myself with a blog and a pretty generous number of followers last month. But I did nearly no preparation, and tried to make it work on the fly, or as Ray Bradbury put it, jump and build my wings on the way down.

I’ve had some trouble keeping up with the pace I originally envisioned, and the inevitable real life has been a real bastard lately. I’m fine, and my family is well, it’s just been a barrage of things demanding my attention. Which is to say, I’m a man with a wife, a son, and a job, and life will do that. It’s not an excuse, it’s a reality I have failed to properly account for in trying to make this blog work.

So I’m putting some thought into how best to accomplish what I want to accomplish: that is, create an interesting, engaging, and fun space to talk about crowdfunding, specifically of artistic endeavors of a certain ilk, because I believe a strictly corporate-driven approach leaves too much good art unrewarded. I’ve learned a lot in the last month that I think I can apply here. 

I’m a big-time process nerd. As much output of creative endeavors like fiction, comics, movies, etc. interest me, the creative process is a big draw for me as well. And I have basically no process beyond blindly groping through links, RSS feeds, etc and then trying to hammer out something at the last minute. It’s not sustainable, and it’s led me to produce some stuff I’m not crazy about. I need to make my process.

So I want to do better. I’m not going away for good, but I’m going to walk in the wilderness for a little while, and might be quiet on the blog for a few weeks. I need to really think about what I want to produce and how I want to do it, and how to make it happen without neglecting my family, job, reading, or my writing ambitions (there, I said it!). I’m not sure what this will look like when I come back, but whatever it is I want to make it the best I can, and I hope I’ll reward you if you join me.

Leave a Reply

